skip to content, health centers and clinics, search, accessibility statement

We have a new look!

HeartSafe Community

A HeartSafe Community is a community where all elements of the Chain of Survival are in place and there is a focus on improving the cardiovascular health of its citizens, thereby increasing the chances that anyone suffering a cardiovascular emergency will have the best possible chance for survival.

Communities throughout Contra Costa County are being invited to join the EMS Agency and the American Heart Association in making Contra Costa County a safer place to live, shop, work and play by challenging all of our communities to achieve HeartSafe Community, or HeartSafe Campus Designation. We encourage our communities already designated to recommit to designation every 2 years. Information on how to achieve this designation can be found below.

HeartSafe Communities in Contra Costa County

  • Alamo
  • Brentwood
  • Clayton
  • Concord
  • Danville
  • El Cerrito
  • Kensington
  • San Ramon

Newly designated

  • Lafayette
  • Moraga
  • Orinda

To become a HeartSafe Community or to learn more contact:
Lisa Vajgrt-Smith at